Meet Me At Midnight

clock

Hello everybody! I've decided that today is the day. If you remember some of the earlier, special updates, I was apologizing for missing posts because I was working on something. Well, I've finally finished and I will be posting it on Sunday, November 6th at midnight (midnight Japan time). I think that's 11:00am EST (Eastern Standard Time), 10:00 CST (Central Standard), 9:00am MST (Mountain Standard), and 8:00am PST (Pacific Standard Time). I will be putting up some other posts in the Continue Reading …

Tsukuba, Japan…Science City or Spider City??

I snapped this picture last weekend. Yes, it's a real spider.  Weird, right?

Tsukuba is a Japanese town that’s renowned for it’s dedication to all things science. This city is a town full of kind-hearted, hard-working researchers from just about every scientific field you can think of: pharmaceutical research, earthquake research, environmental research, aeronautics, medical research, chemical research... Did you know that JAXA, Japan’s program for training astronauts, has its headquarters right here in Tsukuba? I have had the pleasure of actually getting to teach Continue Reading …

Enoshima, Japan Picture Post Three

A view of Enoshima from higher up.  Umm...OKAY!?!

This is third and last of the Enoshima picture posts. This last post just shows some of the other pics taken around Enoshima during my late summer trip. I don't know what Enoshima is like year-round, but if you can go, I think it's a cool place to check out. In the words of Starsky and Hutch..."Do it. Do it." :D Enoshima Picture Post Three Thanks for reading and looking. See you tomorrow, everybody! Donald Ash Continue Reading …

Enoshima, Japan Picture Post Two Iwaya Cave

One view of the Enoshima Cave.

This is a continuation of yesterday's Enoshima Picture Post. During my trip Yuks (Yukiko's nickname...pronounced "Yooks" not "Yuks" she says) and I went on a small cave tour which was pretty interesting. Here are some of the pics from that small excursion. Inside of the cave there was an interesting legend that told the story of how Enoshima came to be here's how it read: "A Heavenly Maiden and A Dragon with Five Heads (The Legend of Enoshima) Once upon a time, a fearful dragon with Continue Reading …

Enoshima, Japan Picture Post One

When I think of Enoshima this is the view I image

It’s always nice to get out of Tsukuba for a while just to see what I can see. I remember really enjoying my visit to Kamakura back in 2010. Simply put, it was awesome. I remember the sights, the shrines, the Buddha, and one too many servings of matcha ice cream (I freakin’ love that stuff). Despite the trip being so much fun, I had one regret. I didn’t have the chance to stop by Enoshima while I was there. I made a brief excursion to Shonan Beach, but not Enoshima. I heard that it was a Continue Reading …